bits & pieces

I'm not an expert on any single subject, but I'm opinionated about several.

It’s official, I’m a blogger. May 3, 2010

Filed under: In General — nemecke @ 9:43 am
Tags: , ,

Good morning blogging world and welcome to my first ever blog post. I actually set my blog up sometime last week but hadn’t posted anything because I felt the task was too daunting. Forever this will be my first, official post and shouldn’t the topic be something spectacular? Perhaps I’ll find spectacular later, for now I simply feel like writing and sometimes my best thoughts don’t come to me until I actually begin to put the rest of the words swarming through my mind on paper (or virtual paper as it may be).

This morning writing is saving me from making over 50 phone calls for a “work-at-home” recruiting job I thought I’d try out. Like anything else that’s too good to be true, the job description made it sound like a “can’t lose” situation and while I certainly didn’t lose anything financially, I also didn’t gain anything (Ok, I got $15.00) but so far I have lost about 7 hours of my life to the task which equals out to about $2.14/hour. So as of about 15 minutes ago I decided that’s it for me and it’s time to focus on other things like writing, which will probably prove to be equally as fruitful – for now anyway, I have big dreams…

Over the past six months I’ve tried to do a lot of soul-searching, I’ve sort of been forced to, because I am caught between wanting (and being unable to find) a full-time, decent salaried job and figuring out what it is I actually want to be when I grow up. For almost three years my husband and I lived in California where I had a job I really enjoyed as a Community Relations Manager for Barnes and Noble. But when my husband’s company offered him a new position that required relocating back home to Wisconsin, we jumped on the chance for them to help us out of the horrible real estate situation going on in Southern, CA and to move back home on someone else’s dime. It was a great opportunity for us, unfortunately for me it meant quitting my job and hoping that, somehow in the worst job market we’ve seen in years, I’d be able to find something again. Odds weren’t working in my favor and 6 months later I’m working 12 hours a week at the only part-time job I could even find and wondering if I’ll ever get my career back. This is what led me to believe in the possibilities of the at-home recruiting job (when you’re desperate…) but really, if I’m totally honest with myself, I just want to try writing. I don’t know what I want to write, where I want to write, who I want to write for. For now, I just want to be able to write – so thank you to the inventor of blogging because here I am, writing.

 

2 Responses to “It’s official, I’m a blogger.”

  1. Hedy Says:

    You’re on a new adventure! Can’t wait for you to share what it’s like to anticipate your first baby and to train your wacky puppy and just in general to share both the magic and the angst of being a young woman, wife and mother in this complicated world we’re in. You go!

  2. Dana Says:

    How exciting! You are officially a blogger! Fantastic idea to quit the recruiting job follow your passion. I believe in its possibilities and in your potential!


Leave a Reply

