bits & pieces

I'm not an expert on any single subject, but I'm opinionated about several.

Dear Patron Saint of Vegetables, May 23, 2010

Filed under: Gardening — nemecke @ 9:39 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Please show me the fruits of my labor!

In the beginning. . .

That’s my twin sister who graciously offered to help me take on the task of planting my first ever vegetable garden. This is something that has been on my “Bucket List” for years and years and it feels fantastic to be crossing it off! When my husband and I were moving back to WI he came before me to start his job and to house hunt. Most people were shocked that he picked out the house without me ever seeing it but when I saw the picture of the garden in the back my response was – “SOLD!” Well that and we happen to have a pretty amazing kitchen (in which I will cook with all my fresh veggies – right veggie saint??).

So after two rounds of weeding, picking out tomato plants and veggie seeds and spreading new dirt it was time to plant! Here’s what I went with – tomatoes, cucumbers, yellow squash, zucchini, green beans and watermelon. That’s a lot. I’m experimenting. In fact, I had no idea how much space plants needed so I planted 5 tomato plants in the first row and 2 in separate pots plus had to give some to my sister to plant in pots at her house. I’m sure I’ll still end up digging at least 2 out of the garden to give the others space to grow. I’ll dig them up at the same time that I dig up the extra cucumber, zucchini and green bean plants – in order to make room for the watermelon. My strategy is this – first see what actually grows and then trim down from there. I’m a novice so I can get away with it. As soon as I start signing my blogs “expert gardener” I’ll make sure I’m more educated about this. But right now, half the fun is not knowing what I’m doing and seeing what happens! I’ll be happy if I get 2 or 3 tomatoes and a couple of cucs!

It’s certainly going to be a learning process. Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

1. It’s super fun to wear plastic garden boots and to have a bright yellow bucket to collect weeds and veggies in.

2. Ants are actually good for your garden – who knew they were good for anything?

3. Newport thinks he should lick the ants.

4. Planting a vegetable garden is rewarding even before anything grows. I felt like I had accomplished something healthy and positive at the end of the day and that was certainly a good feeling for my head to hit the pillow with.

Stay tuned for my first-time garden updates!

Garden/Rain/Dog Park Boots - love them!

 

3 Responses to “Dear Patron Saint of Vegetables,”

  1. Dana Says:

    Don’t forget that you learned Newport also likes to eat kneelers. 😉

    I’ve been praying to the veggie gods for you!!

  2. Hedy Says:

    Can’t wait to see what grows and to taste the fruits of your labor.

  3. […] Making progress in July. Overflowing in August. If you look back at my original veggie garden post you’ll see that I, admittedly, over planted my garden. On day 1 I had 5 tomato plants (and 2 […]


Leave a Reply

