bits & pieces

I'm not an expert on any single subject, but I'm opinionated about several.

Ready Or Not Here Comes Parenting! July 30, 2010

Filed under: Parenting,Pregnancy — nemecke @ 11:22 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Simultaneously I am both shocked that parenthood is a mere 3 (maybe?) weeks away and relieved that this 9+ month process is coming to an end and we are finally allowed to move on to the next big adventure.  The adventure, also referred to as parenthood, is coming at us fast and furious and at this point we have no choice but to be ready. I’m wondering, is it even possible to really be ready? Scott always says, “if you wait until you’re completely ready you’ll never have kids.” He’s a wise man. I mean, how could you ever know with 100% certainty that you’re ready to be a parent. This is a big deal. A really big deal.

I am, without a doubt, ecstatic about the fact that we get to meet our baby boy in a few weeks but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous. Nervous about the fact that Scott and I will be responsible for this little human, nervous about the fact that life as we know it is about to take a complete 180, nervous about the fact that everyone keeps on telling me that my next full night of sleep will be when I’m 40.

Emotionally I realize that I have absolutely no idea what I’m about to experience. Friends have told me the feeling you get when you hold your baby for the first time is indescribable and when they make eye contact with you it’s breath-taking. At this point I can only imagine what that actually feels like yet I know my imagination won’t even come close to reality. I remember a friend saying, “you think you love your husband – wait until you have a baby.”

And I really love my husband.  As excited as I am to be a mom, I am equally, or possibly even more, excited to witness Scott as a dad.  Simply put, he will be amazing. Since I’ve known him he has been a natural with kids (at least once they’re at an age when they do things besides sleep and eat). His behavior has given me glimpses into what I imagine he’ll be like with his own children and I’m so excited to watch that relationship play out. In our future I picture daddy building forts out of couch cushions and card board boxes, buying a baseball glove as soon as our little guy’s hand is big enough to hold it and practicing throwing a football before we’ve even mastered basic speech. I picture piggy back rides, airplane rides and wrestling sessions on our bed. I imagine our little guy balancing on dad’s lap while he checks his email, sitting next to him on the couch yelling “Go Packers!” and standing by him in the backyard with his little, plastic set of golf clubs while dad practices putting.  This little boy doesn’t know it quite yet, but he’s lucking out in the dad department.

The nursery is ready, the baby clothes are washed and put away, the stroller is assembled, the car seat is in the car.  As far as the “necessary” gear, we’re covered. So now we wait and we sleep because ready or not, here comes parenting!

 

6 Responses to “Ready Or Not Here Comes Parenting!”

  1. Congratulations and get ready for the most challenging, rewarding, task in the face of the Earth

  2. Dana Says:

    This little guy doesn’t know it yet but he’s pretty lucky in the mom department too! You BOTH will be wonderful parents! This little guy is SO blessed!

  3. Missy Says:

    Your baby is incredibly lucky to have you both as parents. You two have so much passion for life. Your child will be lucky to share that with you. I cannot wait to watch you and Scott enter into the experience of parenthood. There is no way to prepare to be a perfect parent, the only thing you can do is try your best and do what you think is right. I am excited to meet that little guy. 🙂

  4. Hedy Says:

    This entry made me cry because it brought back so many memories of how I felt just before you and Dana were born. I have never forgotten the moment when they put you in my arms and I said “hello sweetheart”. The immense love and joy you will feel is unmatched by anything else.

    I am so happy for you and Scott. You captured all the feelings completely. And I know that little boy is lucky to have you and Scott as his mom and dad! I can’t wait to meet him.

  5. Amber Says:

    So exciting Kaye! You are so good with your words 🙂 So much honesty too… Love you and hope your next few weeks is blissful… can’t wait to see your lil’ guy!

    • nemecke Says:

      Hey for some reason I’m just now seeing this comment – I hadn’t gotten emails saying anyone commented. Anyway, thanks for reading and for leaving a note! I figure as long as I’m going to write I’m going to be totally honest and speak from my heart. It feels good to be writing!


Leave a Reply

