bits & pieces

I'm not an expert on any single subject, but I'm opinionated about several.

First Vegetable Garden is a Success! August 9, 2010

Filed under: Gardening — nemecke @ 9:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

In the beginning. . .

 

Making progress in July.

 

Overflowing in August.

 

If you look back at my original veggie garden post you’ll see that I, admittedly, over planted my garden. On day 1 I had 5 tomato plants (and 2 in pots), a row of cucumber plants, 3 zucchini plants, 3 yellow squash plants, a row of bush green beans and one, lonely, set of watermelon seeds. My garden is approximately 6′ by 8′. As I said in my first post, I’m learning – I’ve learned. Vegetables take up A LOT of space and they have no care or concern for their veggie neighbors. In the life of a vegetable, it’s everyone for him/herself – no teamwork involved. And as the vegetable garden landlord it has been my job to decide who stays and who goes. Right off the bat I had a vacancy to deal with as the watermelon never did decide to show up. Given the extra space, I made the executive decision to uproot all but one of the original cucumber plants and transplant them in order to give my tomatoes more space. One of the transplanted cucumber plants survived and is finally producing its first cuc! I also quickly learned that growing cucumbers up a trellis is clearly the way to go – if it weren’t for the trellis I am absolutely sure the cucs would have taken over my entire garden without a second thought. Next year I will be sure to have at least a 6′ tall trellis as the plant is quickly running out of room and wrapping itself around whatever it can find – mostly tomatoes and zucchini.
The next order of business was to completely remove 1 of the zucchini plants and 2 of the yellow squash plants. And by the way, zucchini and squash leaves are sharp. Now I’m almost 9 months pregnant and walking around with cuts up and down my arms. The obviously fix would be to wear long sleeves while working in the garden – but I’m not sure if you’ve paid attention to the weather we’ve had in Wisconsin this summer at all so let me sum it up – disgusting. 88+ and 100% humid almost everyday. No, I’ll take the cuts thank you very much.
Anyway, I took out 1 zucchini plant and 2 yellow squash plants and still the remaining plants could each use their own 6′ x 8′ space. My veggies like to s-p-r-a-w-l out. And I planted bush green beans. What was I thinking? Here’s the number 1 lesson I’ve learned from vegetable gardening so far. If you can grow it up, DO IT. Pole beans would have been the way to go. My hindsight is fabulous. Nonetheless, I am seeing the fruits of my labor! I’ve picked bunches of green beans, 4 or 5 cucumbers, the biggest zucchini you’ve ever seen, 2 yellow squash and 2 delicious tomatoes so far. And this is just the beginning! I have bunches of green tomatoes just waiting to ripen, there are 4 zucchini that will be ready any day now and several other yellow squash making their way into the world. Plus I can see several little, pickle size cucumbers starting to grow. Nine mini loaves of zucchini bread, 1 huge batch of zucchini & squash soup, several servings of green beans and cucumber sandwiches later and I am still ecstatic about my continuous veggie production. Keep ’em coming!
 

Tiny cucumber starting to grow...

 

Tomatoes!

 

Yellow Squash!

And the enormous zucchini. . .

 

I left for 3 days and came back to this.

 

 

One Response to “First Vegetable Garden is a Success!”

  1. Hindsight is marvellous! I’ve been growing fruit and veg for a few years, and every year I learn loads, and yes make mistakes. But whatever happens you still get to eat the produce 🙂 Good luck for next year!


Leave a Reply

