bits & pieces

I'm not an expert on any single subject, but I'm opinionated about several.

Impromptu Kid’s Bathroom Redo. . . January 23, 2012

My husband was recently gone for 5 days and than meant it was project time for me. Every time he goes I feel the need for a big project and it usually involves paint. We have a bathroom in our house that is pretty much only used for Brayden’s baths, the dog’s baths and Scott’s haircuts. We’re only in there a few times a week but still, I couldn’t take another day of it. It was dull and dark and flat. I do not get along well with flat paint (and quite honestly I don’t think you should either). I find no reason for flat paint anywhere in my house. Nowhere. Especially not in a bathroom. So, here is what I started with…

There were marks on the walls from where pictures had been hanging for 10 years too. It was just in really bad need of a makeover.

I was originally inspired by this adorable, little stool that a good friend made me for my baby shower…

Did you notice how she even drilled holes in the food that the caterpillar ate through?? So cute!

And then I saw this Pottery Barn Kids Very Hungry Caterpillar bathroom and it was a done deal.  Only I wasn’t about to fork over $60.00 for a shower curtain alone (plus I don’t have a claw foot tub and trees for curtain rods) so I took on the challenge DIY style and did it all for under $60 total. First things first, get rid of those dull, flat walls. I went with a very light blue that actually dried not quite as light as I expected, but it works and I like it. A lot actually.

Then I used the new level I got for Christmas to mark off where I wanted circles all the way around the room. After tracing them on with chalk I painted them all in with a nice shade of green called “green stalk” – appropriate don’t you think? Don’t look close, it’s really hard to paint in a perfect circle.

In the room with the tub and shower I did an accent wall in that same green color and continued the circles in the light blue.

Once I had all the painting done it was time for the fun part – sewing! I found some cute white fabric and sewed a new shower curtain. (In hindsight I could have bought a plain white, fabric shower curtain but it was fun to learn how to do this. Thanks online tutorials!) This was a big deal for me, I had to learn how to do button holes! Once the curtain was finished I bought a bunch of felt squares and created my own hungry caterpillar. Here it is, my absolute favorite part of this bathroom!!

I LOVE this shower curtain, partly because I made it but also because I just love that little caterpillar. He is so bright and fun and he turns in to a beautiful butterfly!

So that’s that, my impromptu bathroom project is complete! I may add some pictures to the wall – thinking of framing the jackets from some of B’s Eric Carle books.  So happy with the way this turned out and so glad I took this project on!

 

2 Responses to “Impromptu Kid’s Bathroom Redo. . .”

  1. I love this, Kaye! You are so talented. I think framed book jackets would be a nice touch.

  2. […] saw it, my only solution was to tackle this project myself. My curtain making history included one shower curtain so I sort of knew I was crazy but, nevertheless, I trudged along. Four trips to the fabric store […]


Leave a Reply

